top of page
shutterstock_2060906291.jpg

COINN
Educational
Materials

shutterstock_1808645731 [Converted].png

LEHRMATERIAL

WEBINAR ZUR RETINOPATHIE DER PREMATURITÄT

Professor Clare Gilbert, FRCOphth MD MSc, Professor für Internationale Augengesundheit an der Londoner Schule für Hygiene und Tropenmedizin, London, Großbritannien, Professor Brain Darlow MA MD (Cantab) FRCP FRACP, Neonatologe, Lehrstuhl für Pädiatrie, Universität Otago, Christchurch, Neuseeland und Professor Graham Quinn, MD, MSCE, behandelnder Chirurg in der Abteilung für Kinderaugenheilkunde am Kinderkrankenhaus von Philadelphia, freuen sich, eine Reihe von drei Videopräsentationen über Frühgeborenen-Retinopathie zu teilen.

Diese Serie umfasst:

1

2

3

Die Epidemiologie der ROP

Primärprävention von ROP

Screening und Behandlung von ROP

COINN

Epidemiologie der ROP von Professor Clare Gilbert

Webinar Frühgeborenen-Retinopathie bei COINN 2 Primärprävention Kopie 02

Helfen Sie Babys, bei der Geburt zu atmen - Newborn Care Series

WEBINARE / VIDEOS

Von COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc.) entwickelte Bildungswebinare wurden durch uneingeschränkte Bildungszuschüsse von AbbVie ( www.abbvie.com ) ermöglicht .

Die ersten beiden Bildungsprojekte (Online-Unterricht) sind Grundprinzipien für die Beurteilung von Neugeborenen und Neugeboreneninfektionen. Das erste sind die Grundprinzipien der Neugeborenenbewertung, die von Dr. Carole Kenner, Exekutivdirektorin COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc.), vorgestellt werden, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Bewertung des Neugeborenen bei begrenzten technologischen Ressourcen liegt. Das zweite Seminar wird von Patricia Bromley, Dozentin an der School of Nursing & Midwifery an der Universität von Tasmanien, Australien, gehalten und behandelt die Themen Pathophysiologie, Infektionskontrolle und Standardhygienepraktiken. Die ersten beiden Bildungsprojekte finden Sie hier .

In der dritten Präsentation (unten auf dieser Seite), die von Dr. Susan Blackburn, Enhancing Parenting , vorgestellt wird, geht es um die Bedeutung der Elternschaft in den Kindergärten und auf der Intensivstation.

Webinars / Videos

COVID 19

thebmjopinion

 

Covid-19 highlights the world’s chronic shortage of life saving medical oxygenhttps://blogs.bmj.com/bmj/2021/06/01/covid-19-highlights-the-worlds-chronic-shortage-of-life-saving-medical-oxygen/

 

PMNCH

 

COVID-19 highlights the world’s chronic shortage of life saving medical oxygenhttps://pmnch.who.int/news-and-events/news/item/01-06-2021-covid-19-highlights-the-world-s-chronic-shortage-of-life-saving-medical-oxygen

ANDERE RESSOURCEN:

„Eine gesunde Schwangerschaft. Alles was jetzt zählt “ | herunterladen
Die englische Ausgabe der Broschüre mit vielen Tipps für werdende Eltern (von EFCNI, 2015). Auch in deutscher Sprache erhältlich - zum kostenlosen Download hier.

.

American Nurses Association: Grundlagen der genetischen und genomischen Pflege: Kompetenzen, Lehrplanrichtlinien und Ergebnisindikatoren , 2. Auflage, 2009 | Hier herunterladen

COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc.) war eine der 47 Pflegeorganisationen, die diese Kompetenzen befürworteten.

British Association of Perinatal Medicine: Ein Kernlehrplan für klinische Kompetenz für Neugeborenen-Krankenschwestern (2012) | Hier herunterladen

Pflege des Neugeborenen-Referenzhandbuchs (2004) von Beck, Ganges, Goldman und Long (Save the Children) von Healthy Newborn Network | herunterladen

Fürsorge für morgen - das EFCNI-Weißbuch über Gesundheits- und Nachsorgedienste für Mütter und Neugeborene | Hier herunterladen

Das Trösten Ihres Babys auf der Intensivstation, geschrieben von der international bekannten Expertin Dr. Linda Frank, ist ein Leitfaden für Eltern, der ihnen hilft, mehr über ihr Kind und ihre Schmerzen zu erfahren. Die kostenlose Broschüre ist in Englisch und Spanisch erhältlich. Es ist entweder eine PDF- oder eine iBOOKS-Version verfügbar Hier herunterladen

EU-Benchmarking-Bericht über Frühgeburten in ganz Europa (ebenfalls von EFCNI) (2009-2010) | Hier herunterladen

Grundlegende Neugeborenenpflege für kleine Krankenhäuser (2004) | Hier herunterladen

Dieses Dokument konzentriert sich auf die Bedürfnisse von Krankenschwestern in Krankenhäusern mit begrenzten Ressourcen für Neugeborene. Bilder und Diagramme helfen Krankenschwestern, neue Fähigkeiten für Kindergärten der Stufe II (Kindergärten mit mittlerer Betreuung) zu erlernen.

Jedes Neugeborene: Ein Aktionsplan zur Beendigung vermeidbarer Todesfälle (Übersicht) | herunterladen

Familienbrücke zu fürsorglichen Händen | Webseite

Entwickelt, um Familien eine vorausschauende Anleitung und Kenntnisse zu geben, die erforderlich sind, um engagierte Mitglieder des Pflegeteams und informierte Anwälte für ihr Baby zu sein. Unser Programm zur Unterstützung von Familien ermöglicht eine persönliche Verbindung zwischen Familien mit hohem Risiko vor der Geburt und ihrem Gesundheitsteam und bietet Eltern wertvolle Ressourcen durch unser NICU Ambassador RN-Programm sowie durch Module im Patientenportal auf unserer Website.

Globale Allianz zur Verhinderung von Frühgeburt und Totgeburt (2010) | herunterladen

7 Berichte, die von der Global Alliance zur Verhinderung von Frühgeburtlichkeit und Totgeburt (GAPPS) bei der BMC-Schwangerschaft bei Geburt im Jahr 2010 veröffentlicht wurden, um die Inzidenz dieses Problems der öffentlichen Gesundheit hervorzuheben, die Wirksamkeit evidenzbasierter Lösungen zu erörtern und Möglichkeiten zu befürworten und Ressourcen dafür mobilisieren.

Gesunde Neugeborene Netzwerkvideos zur Betreuung von Neugeborenen / Säuglingen / Müttern | Schau hier

INTERGROWTH-21st Neugeborenengröße bei Geburtshoroskopen | Download für Jungen oder Mädchen

Geschlechtsspezifische Standards für Gewicht, Länge und Kopfumfang für das Gestationsalter bei der Geburt, die die verfügbaren WHO-Standards für das Wachstum von Kindern ergänzen und Vergleiche zwischen Populationen ermöglichen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter https://intergrowth21.tghn.org

Lancet Artikel über das Überleben von Neugeborenen (2005) | herunterladen

March of Dimes: Schwangerschafts- und Gesundheitsprofil | herunterladen

Kostenlose Software, die Patienten und Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe hilft, genetische Risikofaktoren auf der Grundlage der Familiengesundheitsgeschichte zu identifizieren und zu diskutieren. Entdecken Sie die Broschüre und finden Sie die Ressource hier .

Multidisziplinäre Richtlinien für die Betreuung von Frühgeborenen (2013) der National Perinatal Association, USA | herunterladen

Die National Perinatal Association freut sich, die wichtigen neuen Richtlinien für die Betreuung von Frühgeborenen zu teilen. Dieses neue Tool für Gesundheitsdienstleister, Eltern, Fallmanager und andere Personen, die sich um Säuglinge und Kinder kümmern, die zwischen 34 und 36 Jahren in der 6./7. Schwangerschaftswoche geboren wurden, bietet evidenzbasierte Empfehlungen für das Management von Frühgeborenen von der Geburt bis zur Kindheit

Neo-BFHI: Die babyfreundliche Krankenhausinitiative für Neugeborenenstationen: Drei Leitprinzipien und zehn Schritte zum Schutz, zur Förderung und Unterstützung des Stillens : Kerndokument mit empfohlenen Standards und Kriterien - von Nyqvist et al. (2015) mit der Arbeitsgruppe Nordic und Quebec zum Download verfügbar | Hier herunterladen

Newborn Care Charts: Management von kranken und kleinen Neugeborenen im Krankenhaus (2010) erstellt von Save the Children, UNICEF, Limpopo-Initiative für Neugeborenenpflege, Limpopo University | herunterladen

Neugeborenen-Pflegetabellen für die Behandlung von kranken und kleinen Neugeborenen im Krankenhaus sind für Ärzte und Krankenschwestern auf Distrikt- und regionaler Krankenhausebene konzipiert und bieten eine Referenz für die Beurteilung, Klassifizierung und Behandlung von kranken und kleinen Neugeborenen sowie einen Überblick der routinemäßigen Pflege, die allen Neugeborenen zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollte.

UNICEF: Engagement für das Überleben von Kindern: Ein erneuertes Versprechen (Fortschrittsbericht 2013) | Hier herunterladen

UNICEF: Was für Kinder in Südasien funktioniert: Neugeborenenpflege: ein Überblick (2004) | Hier herunterladen

Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO): Wachstumsstandards für Kinder | Hier herunterladen

Die neuen Wachstumsdiagramme der WHO basieren auf einer Studie mit mehr als 8.000 Kindern aus der ganzen Welt, die in Umgebungen aufgewachsen sind, die ein gesundes Wachstum fördern, wie Stillen, gesunde Ernährung und angemessene Gesundheitsversorgung.

WHO: Umgang mit Neugeborenenproblemen (2003) | herunterladen

Auch sehen mehr   auf die Gesundheit von Säuglingen und Müttern

WHO; March of Dimes; Die Partnerschaft für die Gesundheit von Mutter, Neugeborenem und Kind; Rette die Kinder: Zu früh geboren: Der globale Aktionsbericht zur Frühgeburt kann hier heruntergeladen werden

WHO: Leitlinien zu HIV und Säuglingsernährung (2010) | herunterladen

Grundsätze und Empfehlungen für die Säuglingsernährung im Zusammenhang mit HIV und eine Zusammenfassung der Nachweise

WHO (2013): Interprofessionelle kollaborative Praxis in der primären Gesundheitsversorgung: Perspektiven für Krankenpflege und Hebammen und WHO-Fortschrittsbericht für Krankenpflege und Hebammen 2008-2012 | herunterladen

Zwei Veröffentlichungen der WHO zum Thema Krankenpflege und Hebammen.

Das Tool zur Bewertung des Entzugs (in mehreren Sprachen) steht zur Messung der Opioidentzugssymptome im Krankenhaus bei Babys zur Verfügung (Universität von Kalifornien, San Francisco) herunterladen

Resources

ANDERE MATERIALIEN:

Ultra-Early Intervention Conference an der Karolinska Universität, Stockholm, Schweden - März 2015

Über 6 Stunden wundervolle Präsentationen und Diskussionen zu ultra-frühen Interventionen - kostenloses Webinar von Stockholm, Karolinska University. Die 6. Stockholmer Konferenz über evidenzbasierte (Ultra-) Frühinterventionen für gefährdete Säuglinge wurde im März 2015 von EFCNI (Europäische Stiftung für die Pflege des Neugeborenen) und EADCare (Europäische Vereinigung für Entwicklungspflege) veranstaltet. Präsentationen der Konferenz finden Sie hier: http: // ultra-frühzeitige Intervention.creo.tv/2015/sandning

Forschungsinstitut des Kinderkrankenhauses von Ost-Ontario (CHEO) und Universität von Ottawa - Seien Sie süß zu Babys / Schmerzbehandlung bei Neugeborenen | Video ansehen (auf Englisch und Französisch )

Mehrere evidenzbasierte Lehrvideos sind in verschiedenen Sprachen verfügbar. Beobachten Neugeborenen Schmerzmanagement in Portugiesisch hier , in Spanisch hier und Inuktitut hier . Mandarin und Arabisch sind in Kürze verfügbar.

Globale Gesundheit 2035: Eine Welt, die innerhalb einer Generation zusammenwächst | Webseite

Eine unabhängige Kommission von 25 renommierten Ökonomen und globalen Gesundheitsexperten aus der ganzen Welt kam von Dezember 2012 bis Juli 2013 zusammen, um die Argumente für Gesundheitsinvestitionen erneut zu prüfen (Bericht veröffentlicht in The Lancet, Dezember 2013).

HealthPhone, Safe Motherhood und Newborn Health Library | Videos ansehen

HealthPhone ™ ist eine persönliche Video-Referenzbibliothek und ein Leitfaden für bessere Gesundheits- und Ernährungspraktiken für Familien und Gemeinden, einschließlich Analphabeten, in ihrer Sprache, die auf Mobiltelefonen verteilt wird.

Jedes Neugeborene : Ein Aktionsplan zur Beendigung vermeidbarer Todesfälle Schau Video

Dieses Video zeigt die Hauptursachen für die Sterblichkeit von Neugeborenen und Interventionen, die Auswirkungen haben können, und wie der Aktionsplan für jedes Neugeborene die Verknüpfungen für Veränderungen in ressourcenarmen Ländern auf der ganzen Welt herstellt. Sie können auch eine Übersicht über diese Präsentation herunterladen (gehen Sie zu Materialien zum Download).

Medical Aid Films - Suchen Sie nach Videos in verschiedenen Sprachen zur Gesundheit von Neugeborenen Videos ansehen

Open Pediatrics ist eine kostenlose Webquelle für Kinderkliniker, einschließlich Spezialisten für Neugeborene Videos ansehen

Rette die Kinder : Den ersten Tag überleben |   herunterladen

Der 14. jährliche Bericht über den Zustand der Mütter der Welt befasst sich mit dem kritischen ersten Lebenstag, an dem Mütter und Neugeborene den größten Überlebensbedrohungen ausgesetzt sind

Die politische Erklärung von Recife zu Human Resources for Health : erneute Verpflichtungen zur allgemeinen Krankenversicherung (13. November 2013) | Hier herunterladen

Ultra-Early-Intervention-Konferenz im NIDCAP-Schulungszentrum des Universitätsklinikums Karolinska vom 16. Mai 2013

Kostenlose und vollständige Berichterstattung über diese Konferenz mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Eltern-Kind-Interaktionen und den langfristigen Auswirkungen dieser Beziehungen auf Säuglinge und Eltern. Folgen Sie diesem Link ; Es ist kein Login erforderlich - klicken Sie einfach auf die Wiedergabetaste! Dank Karolinska NIDCAP Training Center, EFCNI und EADCare sowie großzügiger Sponsorenunterstützung durch AbbVie, Covidien, KANMED, Vygon, PulmieCare AB und andere Unternehmen sind auch Handouts und PDFs verfügbar.

* Verwenden Sie die Informationen auf dieser Seite nach eigenem Ermessen. COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc.) übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Änderung des Inhalts der Websites. Alle bereitgestellten Informationen dienen nur zu Informationszwecken und stellen keinen rechtlichen Vertrag zwischen COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) und einer Organisation dar, sofern nicht anders angegeben. COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) unterstützt nicht unbedingt die Materialien, die von einer Vielzahl von Quellen außerhalb von COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) erstellt und gepflegt werden.

Materials
Mother Holding Baby Finger
logo-schp_edited.png
the-sydney-children-hospital-network_edited.png

We are delighted to announce the Family and Infant Neurodevelopmental Care eLearning program is now live.

10% discount code

https://schp.org.au/fineaustralia

 

COINN 10% discount code: (for members only)

inc_post.png
coinn.jpg
inc.jpg

2021 INC Scientific Workshop

 

C-Path’s International Neonatal Consortium held its two-day annual scientific workshop in a virtual format, October 19-20, 2021.

Communication tools

INC Scientific workshop

Geralyn Sue Prullage, Carolle Kernner, Mustapha Mahama,  Victoria Awalenkak Agwiah, Mavis Suglo (2024). Providing standardized neonatal education in Northern Ghana. Elsevier Journal.

Access journal: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/S1355184124000772

unnamed-4.png
The iKMC News series by the American Academy of Pediatrics

The iKMC News series by the American Academy of Pediatrics  through funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, and in collaboration with the World Health Organization, other implementing organisations and several national professional societies, showcases a series of webinars aimed at promoting new evidence on immediate Kangaroo Mother Care (iKMC).

This series features global experts in iKMC and small and sick newborn care supporting a global paradigm shift of zero separation for mothers and babies with a goal to improve quality of care and outcomes for small and sick newborns. 

Access resource: https://www.aap.org/en/aap-global/immediate-kangaroo-mother-care-ikmc/

The KMC info pack from the Newborn toolkit

To highlight the benefits and planning required for implementing effective KMC initiatives, we encourage you to read through the KMC related material collated by the Newborn toolkit team. 

Access resource in English: https://newborntoolkit.org/toolkit?language=en

Access resource in French: https://www.newborntoolkit.org/toolkit?language=fr

Country Experiences with iKMC
The 'Kangaroo mother care' method: India introduces first ward to provide immediate KMC

Following the WHO iKMC study, India introduced the first ward to provide iKMC health services at the hospital where the trial was conducted in new Dehli.

Access resource: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlV6B1y4Fs4

international-stillbirth-alliance-logo-300x84.png
Global Advocacy and Implementation Guide - International Stillbirth Alliance

This action-focused guide brings together existing resources and practical guidance to inform planning, investments and programmes aimed at ending preventable stillbirths and improving care for all women and families who experience stillbirth. It also highlights case studies from a wide range of contexts to showcase what can be achieved.

Access resource: https://www.stillbirthalliance.org/global-advocacy-and-implementation-guide/

cnf.873ab17b.png
Canadian Neonatal Foundation - Quality Improvement integrated Kangaroo Mother Care

Kangaroo mother care (KMC) for low birthweight babies has been proven to reduce neonatal mortality and improve outcomes for survivors, particularly in low- and lower-middle income countries. Despite the evidence of significant benefits from these well-designed educational programs, the uptake of KMC has been patchy worldwide.

 

Dissemination and implementation of effective healthcare practices require more than good science and effective educational strategies: they need strategic implementation of scientific methodologies. Quality Improvement-integrated Kangaroo Mother Care (QIiKMC) combines clinical and quality improvement training into a single program.

 

The Canadian Neonatal Foundation has partnered with the International Pediatric Association to make QIiKMC materials freely available for all. By registering on our website, visitors can download QIiKMC materials for unlimited use by their teams and healthcare trainees.

Access resource: https://www.cnf-fnc.ca/programs/quality-improvement-integrated-kangaroo-mother-care

Small and sick newborn care - Implementation Toolkit

This toolkit brings together readings, tools and learnings for implementers to act, use, share and learn.

Access resource: https://newborntoolkit.org/?language=en

ProjectHope_Logo_CMYK-Med.png
coinn medium_edited.png

A COLLABORATIVE EFFORT BETWEEN THE COUNCIL OF INTERNATIONAL NEONATAL NURSES (COINN) AND PROJECT HOPE

The Council of International Neonatal Nurses (COINN) and Project HOPE have collaborated on the development of a Landscape Analysis that attempts to examine the extent of specialized neonatal nursing education programs across Africa. This analysis is aligned with the WHO strategy 4: Create and train a new cadre of specialized neonatal nurses and examine the extent to which Neonatal Bachelor and Master degree programs are in existence or in development that aim to prepare this cadre in sub-Saharan Africa. With the establishment of the COINN Global Technical Advisory Committee (GTAC) and Community of Practice (CoP)-specifically the Community of Neonatal Nursing Practice (CoNP), funded by the Gates Foundation, it was recommended that GTAC, in collaboration with Project HOPE, provide an update anddescription on the existing neonatal nursing degrees as well as identification of developing programs in Africa. A previous analysis was initiated in 2021 by Project HOPE and COINN but was limited due to existing resources. The experience from this earlier analysis was helpful to meeting the challenges of the current more extensive analysis.

Results Report: Download

bottom of page

COINN Educational Materials

EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS

WEBINAR ON RETINOPATHY OF PREMATURITY
 

Professor Clare Gilbert, FRCOphth MD MSc , Professor of International Eye Health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London, U.K , Professor Brain Darlow MA MD (Cantab) FRCP FRACP , Neonatologist, Chair of Paediatrics, University of Otago, Christchurch, New Zealand and Professor Graham Quinn, MD, MSCE, attending surgeon in the Division of Paediatric Ophthalmology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia are pleased to share a series of three video presentations on Retinopathy of Prematurity .
 

This series covers :

1

2

3

The epidemiology of ROP

Primary Prevention of ROP

Screening and treatment of ROP

COINN

Epidemiology of ROP by Professor Clare Gilbert

Webinar Retinopathy of prematurity for COINN 2 Primary prevention Copy 02

Helping Babies Breathe at Birth - Newborn Care Series

WEBINARS/VIDEOS

 COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc)-developed Educational Webinars were made possible through unrestricted educational grants from AbbVie (www.abbvie.com).

 

The first two educational projects (online lessons) are Basic Principles of Newborn Assessment and Neonatal Infections. The first is Basic Principles of Newborn Assessment presented by Dr. Carole Kenner, Executive Director COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc), with the emphasis on assessment of the newborn when there are limited technology resources. The second seminar is presented by Patricia Bromley, lecturer from the School of Nursing & Midwifery at the University of Tasmania, Australia, and discusses the pathophysiology, infection control issues, and standard hygiene practices. The first two educational projects are available here.

 

The third presentation (below on this page), presented by Dr. Susan Blackburn,Enhancing Parenting, is about the importance of parenting in the special care nurseries and NICU.

 

OTHER RESOURCES:

EFCNI websitehttps://www.efcni.org/

 

World prematurity day and resourceshttps://www.efcni.org/activities/campaigns/wpd/wpdmaterial/

 

“A healthy pregnancy. All that matters now” | download
The English edition of the brochure with many tips for expecting parents (from EFCNI, 2015). Also available in German – for free download go here.

American Nurses Association: Essentials of Genetic and Genomic Nursing: Competencies, Curricula Guidelines, and Outcome Indicators, 2nd Edition, 2009 | download here

COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) was one of the 47 nursing organizations that endorsed these competencies.

 

British Association of Perinatal Medicine: A Core Syllabus for Clinical Competency for Neonatal Nurses (2012) | download here

 

Care of the Newborn Reference Manual (2004) by Beck, Ganges, Goldman and Long  (Save the Children) from Healthy Newborn Network | download

 

Caring for Tomorrow – the EFCNI White Paper on Maternal and Newborn Health and Aftercare Services | download here

 

Comforting Your Baby in Intensive Care written by internationally known expert, Dr. Linda Frank, is a guide for parents to help them learn about their infant and pain.  The free booklet is available in English and Spanish.  Either PDF or iBOOKS version is available | download here

 

EU Benchmarking report on prematurity across Europe (also re from EFCNI) (2009-2010) | download here

 

Essential Newborn Nursing for Small Hospitals (2004) | download here

This document focuses on the needs of nurses in hospitals that have limited neonatal resources.  Pictures and diagrams help nurses to learn new skills for level II nurseries (intermediate care nurseries).

 

Every Newborn: An Action Plan to End Preventable Deaths (overview) | download

 

Families’ Bridge to Caring Handswebsite

designed to provide families with anticipatory guidance and knowledge that is needed to be engaged members of the care team and informed advocates for their baby.  Our family-support program facilitates a personal connection between high risk antepartum families and their healthcare team, and provides parents with valuable resources through our NICU Ambassador RN program as well as through modules located in the patient portal on our website.

 

Global Alliance to Prevent Prematurity and Stillbirth (2010)download

7 reports published by the Global Alliance to Prevent Prematurity and Stillbirth (GAPPS) in BMC Pregnancy in Childbirth in 2010 to highlight the incidence of this public health concern, discuss the efficacy of evidence-based solutions to address it, and look at ways to advocate and mobilize resources for the same.

 

Healthy Newborn Network videos on neonatal/infant/maternal care | watch here

 

INTERGROWTH-21st Newborn Size at Birth Charts | download for boys or girls

 

Sex-specific standards for weight, length, and head circumference for gestational age at birth that complement the available WHO Child Growth Standards and allow comparisons across populations. For more information, please visit https://intergrowth21.tghn.org

 

Lancet Articles on Neonatal Survival (2005) | download

 

March of Dimes: Pregnancy and Health Profile | download

 

Free software to help patients and health professionals to identify and discuss genetic risk factors on the base of family health history. Explore the brochure and find the resource here.

 

Multidisciplinary Guidelines for the Care of Late Preterm Infants (2013) by National Perinatal Association, USA | download

 

The National Perinatal Association is pleased to share the important new guidelines for the care of late preterm infants. This new tool for healthcare providers, parents, case managers and others who care for infants and children born 34-36 6/7 weeks gestation, provides evidence-based recommendations of the management of late preterm infants from birth through childhood

 

Neo-BFHI: The Baby-friendly Hospital Initiative for Neonatal Wards: Three Guiding Principles and Ten Steps to protect, promote and support breastfeeding: core document with recommended standards and criteria  – by Nyqvist et al (2015) with Nordic and Quebec Working Group are available for download | download here

 

Newborn Care Charts: Management of Sick and Small Newborns in Hospital (2010) created by Save the Children, UNICEF, Limpopo Initiative for Newborn Care, Limpopo University | download

 

Newborn Care Charts for Management of Sick and Small Newborns in Hospital are designed to be used by doctors and nurses at the district and regional hospital level and provide a ready reference for assessment, classification, and treatment of sick and small newborns as well as an overview of routine care that should be provided to all newborns.

 

UNICEF: Committing to Child Survival: A promise Renewed (Progress Report 2013)download here

 

UNICEF: What Works for Children in South Asia: Newborn Care: an overview (2004) | download here

 

World Health Organization (WHO): Child Growth Standardsdownload here

The new WHO growth charts are based on a study of more than 8,000 children from around the world raised in environments that promote healthy growth, such as breastfeeding, healthy diets and adequate healthcare.

 

WHO: Managing newborn problems (2003) | download

Also see more on infant and maternal health

 

WHO; March of Dimes; The Partnership for Maternal, Newborn & Child Health; Save the Children: Born too soon: the Global Action Report on Preterm Birth download here

 

WHO: Guidelines on HIV and Infant Feeding (2010)download

Principles and recommendations for infant feeding in the context of HIV and a summary of evidence

 

WHO (2013):  Interprofessional Collaborative Practice in Primary Health Care: Nursing and Midwifery Perspectives and WHO Nursing and Midwifery Progress report 2008-2012 | download

Two WHO publications pertaining to nursing and midwifery.

 

Withdrawal Assessment tool (in multiple languages) is available for measuring hospital opioid withdrawal symptoms in babies (University of California San Francisco) | download

 

OTHER MATERIALS:

Ultra-Early Intervention Conference at the Karolinska University, Stockholm, Sweden – March 2015

 

Over 6 hours of wonderful presentations and discussions on ultra-early interventions – free webinar from Stockholm, Karolinska University.  The 6th Stockholm Conference on evidence based (ultra-) early interventions for infants at risk was hosted in March 2015 by EFCNI (European Foundation for Care of the Newborn Infant) and EADCare (European Association for Developmental Care). Presentations of the conference is available here: http://ultra-early intervention.creo.tv/2015/sandning

 

Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) Research Institute & University of Ottawa – Be sweet to babies/neonatal pain managementwatch video  (in English and French)

 

Several  evidence-based educational videos are available in different languages. Watch neonatal pain management in Portuguese here,  in Spanish here, and Inuktitut here. Mandarin and Arabic versions are coming soon.

 

Global Health 2035: A world Converging within a Generationwebsite

 

An independent commission of 25 renowned economists and global health experts from around the world came together from December 2012 to July 2013 to revisit the case for health investment (report published in The Lancet, on December, 2013).

 

HealthPhone, Safe Motherhood and Newborn Health Librarywatch videos

 

HealthPhone™ is a personal video reference library and guide to better health and nutrition practices, for families and communities, including the illiterate, in their language, distributed on mobile phones.

 

Every Newborn: An Action Plan to End Preventable Deaths | watch video

 

This video highlights the major causes of newborn mortality and interventions that can generate impact and how the Every Newborn action plan will provide the linkages for change in low-resource countries around the world. You can also download an overview of this presentation (go to Materials for download)

 

Medical Aid Films – check for videos in different languages on newborn health | watch videos

 

Open Pediatrics is a free of charge web source for pediatric clinicians, including neonatal specialty | watch videos

 

Save the Children: Surviving the First Day | download

 

The 14th annual State of the World’s Mothers report looks at the critical first day of life  when mothers and newborns face the greatest threats to survival

 

The Recife Political Declaration on Human Resources for Health: renewed commitments towards universal health coverage (November, 13, 2013) | download here

 

Ultra-Early Intervention Conference at the Karolinska University Hospital NIDCAP Training Center of May 16th, 2013

 

Free and full coverage of this conference with the focus on parent-infant interactions and long-term effects of these relationships on infants and parents. Follow this link; no login is needed – just click on play button! Handouts and pdf are available as well, thanks to Karolinska NIDCAP Training Center, EFCNI and EADCare and generous sponsor support from AbbVie, Covidien, KANMED, Vygon, PulmieCare AB, and other companies.

 

* Use the information on this page at your discretion. COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) does not bear responsibility for changing contents of the websites. All information provided is for informational purposes only and does not constitute a legal contract between COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) and any organization unless otherwise specified. COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc) does not necessarily endorse the materials created and maintained by a variety of sources external to COINN (Council of International Neonatal Nurses, Inc)